A throbbing 32-piece band of masked chaos invites you to dissolve the performer/audience divide and melt into the bedlam, that is the disorienting power of itchy-O. itchy-O is a Denver-based percussion-centered electronic performance band. itchy-O brings a sophisticatedly savage sound and the sheer ecstasy of instruments untethered and running free. With a driving drum corps battery, Taiko drummers, an arsenal of electronics including synthesizers, theremin, vocoders, and many other special devices, the IOMB completely engulfs and immerses an audience from every angle in a pounding electric bog of music, ephemera and spectacle. The masked and hive-minded IOMB is waging war on predictable mediocrity with their blind-siding-style performances which feature an artfully hazardous Chinese lion, a troupe of sensuous dancing provocateurs, fog, strobes, sequins, sweat and fury.



Our performances are intended to confound and disorient an audience’s sense of place, time, order, reason and categorical identity.

In an effort to make sense of the phenomenon Itchy-O manifests it has been identified as many things by press, fans, and witnesses in an effort to make sense of a chaotic artistic offering that is intended to awaken consciousness, test assumptions, re-circuit wiring and create an opening for a new experience where identity and individual boundaries surrender to something much greater than a self, a culture, or history.

We’re very lucky to have a diverse group of individuals “behind the mask” that are highly trained and skilled in various art forms. We draw inspiration from many cultures that include Japanese Taiko drumming, Chinese Lion dancing, Mexican street processions, ancient esoteric symbology and American drum corps. These culturally inspired performance elements have been integrated by members who have a deep background and intimate knowledge of the art form. We are proud to be inclusive not only in our membership, but in allowing a variety of talents and art forms to be celebrated in our own explosive way. Our intent is to provide a mysterious portal to another unknown, primal and futuristic world.

Mystery provides a path. We invite our audiences to trust the unknown and join us on that path between knowing and unknowing and leaving previous imprinting behind.


Bryan Aquino ~ Snare
Sara Miller ~ Timbales
Jesse Dickens ~ Quint Tenors
Joe Hatfield ~ Quad Tenors
Scott Banning ~ Roto-Toms
Nick Lloyd ~ Bass Drum
Stephen Daniel Karpik ~ Bass Drum
Carlo Campagna ~ Cymbals
Ethan Klein ~ Cymbals
Alicia Cardenas ~ Cymbals
Robert Drew Burleson ~ Cymbals

Kirsten Vermulen ~ Synthesizer/Vocoder
David Britton ~ Synthesizer/Vocoder
Roger Liu ~ Electric Guitar
John Gross ~ Vocoder
Skyler Heck ~ Samples
Aaron Spriggs ~ Theremin
Pamela Webb ~ Taiko
Sarah Anderson ~ Taiko
Andre Cover ~ Taiko
Thomas Knight ~ Taiko

Joanne M.W. Liu ~ Chinese Lion Dancer
Megs Burd ~ Chinese Lion Dancer
Jen GaNun ~ Chinese Lion Dancer
Steven Call ~ Polyphonic
Landon Ricker ~ Chaos Tech
Andrew Linares ~ Chaos Tech
Brian Dudley ~ Chaos Tech
Mark Moffett ~ Chaos Tech

Sara Valentine ~ Creep Unit
Jenny Smalling ~ Creep Unit
Rachel Qualliotine ~ Creep Unit
Sarah Harman ~ Creep Unit
Jiah Shin ~ Creep Unit
Evelyn Fugate ~ Creep Unit
Mariah Becerra ~ Special Effects
Justin Hicks ~ MSP (Most Special Player)
Joe Riché ~ Industrialists
Eric DeWine ~ Industrialists
Brad Smalling ~ Live Audio Engineer
Travis Volz ~ PR